SHOULD THE CHURCH BE NAMED AFTER CHRIST BEC HE SAID “MY CHURCH”?

For a statement to be true, it must have the incorporation of context with it, thus any statement proceeding out from Christ himself must be look at into with the help of context, so when he said:

Matthew 16:18
[18]And I say also unto thee, That thou art Peter, and upon this rock I will build my church; and the gates of hell shall not prevail against it.

It must not be readily perceived as conclusive to say, its church of christ as official name. What context did clarifies the matter at hand, then?

It is by christ’s primary duty to be subject to god’s will, to obey it in complete submission.

Psalms 40:6-8
[6]Sacrifice and offering thou didst not desire; mine ears hast thou opened: burnt offering and sin offering hast thou not required.
[7]Then said I, Lo, I come: in the volume of the book it is written of me,
[8]I delight to do thy will, O my God: yea, thy law is within my heart.

John 6:38
[38]For I came down from heaven, not to do mine own will, but the will of him that sent me.

One of the will of god, jesus must execute is to relay god’s message verbatim as it say:

John 12:49-50
[49]For I have not spoken of myself; but the Father which sent me, he gave me a commandment, what I should say, and what I should speak.
[50]And I know that his commandment is life everlasting: whatsoever I speak therefore, even as the Father said unto me, so I speak.

It is by this reason that i believe merits credibility that saying “my church” isnt conclusive by itself.

Matthew 11:27
[27]All things are delivered unto me of my Father: and no man knoweth the Son, but the Father; neither knoweth any man the Father, save the Son, and he to whomsoever the Son will reveal him.

John 5:30
[30]I can of mine own self do nothing: as I hear, I judge: and my judgment is just; because I seek not mine own will, but the will of the Father which hath sent me.

It is not by jesus authority that he speaks these but upon the fact that it was delivered to him, therefore these are not his personal words.

All of jesus’ words in matters of doctrinal issues were the personal words of god, jesus only was here to relay as confirmed:

John 7:17
[17]If any man will do his will, he shall know of the doctrine, whether it be of God, or whether I speak of myself.

Doctrinal matters are from god. Its purely god’s words and jesus claiming that he came to relay god’s personal words is logically in doctrinal matters therefore all of jesus words which has doctrinal essence were the words of his father, so to say, i build my church being itself doctrinal are the words of god.

Firstly, bec god is the masterbuilder, thus he built the church.

Hebrews 3:4
[4]For every house is builded by some man; but he that built all things is God.

That as being the source of all things:

1 Cor 8:6

But to us there is one god, the father, of whom are all things…

Jesus is mere instrument:

1 Cor 8:6

And jesus christ, by whom are all things…

Secondly, bec the church was named church of god, named after the father, which church in its integral form, was the one persecuted by Paul. Therefore, church of god is an official name being ascribed to the integral church in judea.

Galatians 1:22-23

[22]And was unknown by face unto the churches of Judaea which were in Christ:

[23]But they had heard only, That he which persecuted us in times past now preacheth the faith which once he destroyed.

GAL 1:13 I PERSECUTED THE CHURCH OF GOD

Therefore, when jesus said i will build my church he was only relaying the father’s personal words, bec fact is, the true church is called, church of god. “My church” speaking of my being relative or in reference to the father as possessive pronoun.

Therefore, to say that the church is named after christ based on this utterance: i will build my church as official name is a weak argument.

Leave a comment