CRUCIFIXION MYTH: JESUS DID NOT WANT TO DIE!

Here is Islamic apologetics, why they believe Jesus did not die:

They likewise used the bible, out-of-context, to support their Islamic faith, as they said:

Critical analysis:

“I will not die but live…”

“He has not given me over to death…”
Words have meanings, establishing its meaning necessitates context, these words must have to be exact and certain, before we could agree to its veracity. It must not have loopholes for ambiguity.

Let us test the Muslims source if it is certain as how they prefer it.

“I will not die…”

“He has not given me over to death…”

Does it suggest, by all means and in every situation, he will not die?
As you can see, there is no confirmatory guarantee that suggests he will not die as per the expanse of “all situation!”

Example:

The doctor said, you will not die!

But he died of old age. What the doctor really meant was, you will not die of cancer, so simply saying, you will not die, is not conclusive as it is not specific, likewise so with Jesus. There is no confirmatory guarantee that in every situation he will not die. He did not say, “I will not die in every situation!”

In which situation he will not die? All?

It did not say.

In which death, god did not allowed him to die? All forms of death?

It did not say particularly in the verse. Biblical context though, has provided facts that he died, such as,

Matthew 26:11-12,18

[11]For ye have the poor always with you; but me ye have not always. 

[12]For in that she hath poured this ointment on my body, she did it for my burial. 

[18]And he said, Go into the city to such a man, and say unto him, The Master saith, My time is at hand; I will keep the passover at thy house with my disciples. 

Matthew 17:22-23

 Jesus said unto them, The Son of man shall be betrayed into the hands of men: 

And they shall kill him, and the third day he shall be raised again. 

Therefore when jesus said, i will not die, god dont give me unto death, implies specific situation wherein he would not die, and that is other than his time–the crucifixion!, bec in context, he died.

John 7:6

My time is not yet come

That is when he will not die, when his crucifixion is not yet at hand.

But as we see, he was crucified.

Muslims though, is contemptuous of the crucifixion, logically, as it is an adverse reality, thus finding means to dilute that reality through out-of-context biblical accounts such as saying, jesus did not want to die thus in disagreement, and as claimed, dysfunctional to the reality of crucifixion thereby concluding, the fallacy of it, by quoting this verse:

Luke 22:42

[42]Saying, Father, if thou be willing, remove this cup from me: nevertheless not my will, but thine, be done. 

Obviously, during this situation, he was weak, his human imperfection and weakness tolled to its potential dragging him to such, imperative decision, that if possible, the crucifixion wont pursue.

Jesus having human attributes logically, felt all human feelings, and at all points felt its weakness as it say,

Hebrews 4:15 

in all points (of human infirmities and weakness) tempted like as we are, yet without sin.

Matthew 26:41

[41]Watch and pray, that ye enter not into temptation: the spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak. 

Thus when that weakness become strong, such as possibly fear overtook him, he made an imperative human response, requesting crucifixion if possible, to discontinue, as he prayed, “if possible, take this cup!”

Muslims say, he was heard, quoting,

Hebrews 5:7

[7]Who in the days of his flesh, when he had offered up prayers and supplications with strong crying and tears unto him that was able to save him from death, and was heard in that he feared;

It did not say, he was heard in every situation or at all times.

John 11:42

[42]And I knew that thou hearest me always: 

Though, it said that, but it doesnt suggest god heard him at all times bec contextually, he died, thus saying, god hears jesus always, doesnt suggest all the time as “always” in biblical application is sometimes terminal, as it say,

Jonah 2:5-6,10

[5]The waters compassed me about, even to the soul: the depth closed me round about, the weeds were wrapped about my head.

[6]I went down to the bottoms of the mountains; the earth with her bars was about me OLAM (always, everlasting) yet hast thou brought up my life from corruption, O LORD my God.

[10]And the LORD spake unto the fish, and it vomited out Jonah upon the dry land.

Therefore, god hearing jesus always doesn’t imply it as all the time, bec “always” in this case is terminal and bec god did not hear him. Fact is, he died!

God said that he was not heard, firstly bec, accounts of crucifixion is evident in the bible, and bec, jesus was praying against god’s will, though not wilfully but by compulsion of the human weakness, he wanted to consume it upon his carnal desire, against god’s will thus he was unanswered.

James 4:3

Ye ask, and receive not, because ye ask amiss, that ye may consume it upon your desires.

Prayers done not in accordance to god’s will are not answered.

Matthew 6:10

Thy will be done in earth, as it is in heaven. 

The will of god for jesus is to die as offering for sins.

John 10:18

[18]No man taketh it from me, but I lay it down of myself. I have power to lay it down, and I have power to take it again. This commandment have I received of my Father. 

John 10:15

[15]As the Father knoweth me, even so know I the Father: and I lay down my life for the sheep. 

Matthew 26:28

[28]For this is my blood of the new testament, which is shed for many for the remission of sins. 

1 Corinthians 5:7

For even Christ our passover is sacrificed for us:

THAT WILL OF GOD CANNOT BE ALTERED, AS IT SAY,

Isaiah 55:11

[11]So shall my word be that goeth forth out of my mouth: it shall not return unto me void, but it shall accomplish that which I please, and it shall prosper in the thing whereto I sent it.

Thus that commandment to jesus to be as sacrifice for remission of sin, cannot be altered, therefore, any prayer against it shall not prosper,meaning, jesus was not heard as he was praying for his personal desires against God’s will.

James 4:3

Ye ask, and receive not, because ye ask amiss, that ye may consume it upon your desires.

Now, we see that jesus bec he was overwhelmed with human weakness, forced to go against god’s will, exhibited emotions proposing inhibition, yet does that mean, he don’t want to die?

Yes! Initially, during that specific time of anguish, he don’t want to die but afterwards, he was strengthened by an angel, thus he changed his mind.

Luke 22:42-44

[42]Saying, Father, if thou be willing, remove this cup from me: nevertheless not my will, but thine, be done. 

[43]And there appeared an angel unto him from heaven, strengthening him.

[44]And being in an agony he prayed more earnestly: (at this point, we dont know his prayers, if he wanted to die or not!) and his sweat was as it were great drops of blood falling down to the ground.

After his initial proposal of censoring crucifixion, he then, changed his mind, after an angel strengthened his human weakness, and thereby opted for the will of god, that is, his crucifixion, as it say,

Matthew 26:51-54

[51]And, behold, one of them which were with Jesus stretched out his hand, and drew his sword, and struck a servant of the high priest’s, and smote off his ear.

[52]Then said Jesus unto him, Put up again thy sword into his place: for all they that take the sword shall perish with the sword. 

[53]Thinkest thou that I cannot now pray to my Father, and he shall presently give me more than twelve legions of angels? 

[54]But how then shall the scriptures be fulfilled, that thus it must be? 

Earlier I said, god don’t grant prayers, adverse to his will, but why did jesus affirmed that he could pray for help, in this case, for angels, to help him allegedly against gods will, and he would be granted?

Logically, jesus could ask for help to delay crucifixion for another day, as it is still permissible having no exact date for him to die but he said, how could the scriptures be fulfilled such as Isaiah 53 if we always hinders its fulfillment? So as implied, by biblical context!

Now that jesus approves for his crucifixion, as he complied for the scriptures to be fulfilled, was he willing to die?

Yes! As he said, it is love when you are to die for your friends! And that, he delights in doing god’s will.

John 15:12-14

[12]This is my commandment, That ye love one another, as I have loved you. 

[13]Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends. 

[14]Ye are my friends, if ye do whatsoever I command you. 

🌐

Hebrews 10:5,7

[5]Wherefore when he cometh into the world, he saith, Sacrifice and offering thou wouldest not, but a body hast thou prepared me:

[7]Then said I, Lo, I come (in the volume of the book it is written of me,) to do thy will, O God.

Psalms 40:6-8
[6]Sacrifice and offering thou didst not desire; mine ears hast thou opened: burnt offering and sin offering hast thou not required.

[7]Then said I, Lo, I come: in the volume of the book it is written of me,

[8]I delight to do thy will, O my God: yea, thy law is within my heart.

Therefore from these contextual accounts, we could conclusively say, he was willing to die, after his initial dissent.

One thought on “CRUCIFIXION MYTH: JESUS DID NOT WANT TO DIE!

Leave a Reply

